Tatu’s Red Lipstick

It’s that time of year again! With Halloween decorations flooding the stores we have been buying up all of the new masks that we can find for Tatu. I found this one at one of the huge Halloween superstores; it’s called “Emo Girl”. Right when I saw it I knew that Tatu needed to have it. I wore it into the observation area to show it to her for the first time.

The first thing Tatu commented on was the LIPSTICK. I asked her COLOR WHAT? Tatu signed RED LIPSTICK. 

Tatu called her new mask BLACK, which is her way of saying “cool”. She then signed LIPSTICK HURRY GO, sending me to the human cage.

I brought red lipstick in the human cage so that I could apply some for Tatu.

Tatu signs FRIEND.

Tatu’s new mask 2011. It was VERY BLACK.

Tatu’s new mask 2010. This is one of my favorite moments from my time at CHCI. 

If you come across another fun mask during your hunt for the perfect Halloween costume this year consider sending it to Tatu!

Chimpanzee & Human Communication Institute

Central Washington University
400 E. University Way
Ellensburg, Wa 98926-7573

Or look for new masks on our Amazon Wish List!

This entry was posted in Enrichment, Sign Language, Tatu. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tatu’s Red Lipstick

  1. I was wondering if she’d actually wear the mask, lol. Wonder why the lipstick so caught her eye?

  2. She does like to wear masks and often requests that her caregivers wear them as well. And Tatu is a big fan of lipstick, especially black. Follow the links at the bottom of the post to see her requesting to have lipstick applied and wearing her masks.

  3. J'aime says:

    Great pictures! Thanks for sharing this fun exchange! 🙂

Leave a Reply

