Peace and Quiet

Written by Debbie Metzler

During one of the last Chimposiums of the season, I took a small group of docents down to visit the chimpanzees before the guests came for their visit. Dar was wearing a brightly colored sock, and holding a recorder.

We put out all sorts of different enrichment items during the day, and the chimpanzees see a lot of different people come visit them. We never know what they might be interested in, but there’s definitely a reason we give them so much variety – so their minds are stimulated and they are as enriched as possible.

Written by Rozsika Steele

This photograph reminded me of an experience I had several years ago on a Sunday morning that I spent with the chimpanzees. A few days before, Dar and I had played with a recorder during a game of chase and had a lot of fun, so on this morning I went into the enrichment room and scrounged up four recorders to see if Tatu and Loulis wanted to join us. I passed them out to everyone. Loulis seemed vaugely interested, Tatu placed hers on the floor next to her, and Dar began to play a little tune. I performed some old classics that I learned in elementary school, most notably, Mary Had a Little Lamb. Dar joined in on the chorus, Loulis watched me curiously, and Tatu stared at me quietly while I made a racket. Half way through Twinkle Twinkle Little Star Tatu extended her arm and signed GIMMIE THAT. I passed her my recorder and she promptly put it down on the ground beside her recorder. The rest of the afternoon was spent in peace and quiet.

This entry was posted in CHCI Experiences, Chimposiums, Dar, Docenting, Enrichment, Loulis, Sign Language, Tatu. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peace and Quiet

  1. Pingback: Solace | pan.bloglodytes

Leave a Reply

